Intruders!

Such a busy day at work I remember

must have been last November

it was a happy evening with my wife

a late dinner no tension or strife

a glass or two of our favourite wine

and the sex was truly divine!

 

Falling asleep at around midnight

left on the bedside light

outside a heavy frost began to lay

no need to get up Saturday

something aroused me it was a bang

followed by a clang!

 

Fearful it was intruders in our house

certainly not a noisy mouse

picked up a baseball bat by the bed

quietly to the landing with dread

as a hooded figure came up the stairs

with me eye to eye glares!

 

In the poor light saw their arm swing

then in my guts a sharp sting

with a metal pipe the villain jabbed

the thug my weapon grabbed

broke away instinctively just swung

stupidly bit my tongue!

 

An unexpected strength within found

a hard object I did then pound

the baseball bat vibrated in my fist

downstairs he fell with a twist

heard screams or muffled shouting

my sanity began doubting!

 

Footsteps then running out of the door

a body below me on the floor

realising the bat was still in my hand

would the authorities understand

was arrested for attacking the intruder

the questions getting cruder!

 

My actions treated like the privacy invader

accused of slaying the raider

just a man protecting his home dwelling

the truth tried them telling

a terrible experience could not  forget

the future of eternal regret!

 

After weeks of worry the charges withdrawn

the trauma left us a little forlorn!

 

The Foureyed Poet.

Published in: on 13/10/2011 at 00:32  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://malctg.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/intruders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hardcore!

  2. Reblogged this on The Foureyed Poet and commented:

    Self defence I cried he was a home invader! The Foureyed Poet.


Leave a Reply

