The Dark Tunnel!

The dark tunnel ahead loomed uninviting

on the desolate abandoned railway track.

A disused line on an unwelcome moor

how I wished I had not gone out there.

Weeds grew amongst the now rusting lines

walking over vandalised warning signs.

At first no sound except the penetrating silence

too quiet for me to feel I was really alone.

Breaking the unearthly stillness I saw a glow

that came from within the dark tunnel.

Weird vibrations started below my aching feet

rooted to the ground not able make a retreat.

Out of the archway pumping out lots of smoke

came a steam train so large and clear.

A shrill whistle blaring as I fell off the line

all I could do was lay there in a disbelieving haze.

As it passed me pulling many carriages behind

blinking my eyes it had gone was it in my mind.

Cautiously I walked into the pitch black entrance

but fear finally over ruled my bold intentions.

I retreated moving away I looked down the line

still unable to take in what I had witnessed.

Yet it looked so real a magnificent sight

a phantom train on a journey in the night!

The Foureyed Poet.

Published in: on 03/02/2008 at 19:12  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://malctg.wordpress.com/2008/02/03/the-tunnel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on The Foureyed Poet and commented:

    The Phantom train hurtling on a journey into the night! The Foureyed Poet.

  2. The first few line of this one reminded me of the story ‘ Tiger in the tunnel’ by Ruskin Bond.


Leave a Reply

