House Hunting A Short Radio Play – By Malcolm T Gould

Cast Of Characters

Narrator.        A Sinister sounding male voice.

Jean.                 A young and happy newly wed.

Alan.                  The Husband a few years older.

The Son.            Not a thoughtful man.

Old Lady.          Mysterious.

Mr Bateman.   A nasty man who is not what he seems.

 

Scene One.

 

Narrator.

A young couple are very excited as they open the squeaky gate of an old terraced house they had come to view, they walked up the short garden path.

(Sound of gate opening and footsteps.)

Jean.

I can’t wait to have a look around, just imagine our first house. It’s so exciting Alan?

Alan.

Yes it’s very exciting.

(Sound of key turning in the lock door opens.)

It’s a bit dingy in here.

Jean.

Well I understand nobody has lived here for sometime, what do you expect Alan? OOh it’s very cold.

(Door slams)

What’s that?

Alan.

Probably next door, sound does travel. The estate agent did say that it’s an old house that’s been empty for a long time.

( Footsteps on old wooden floorboards)

Jean.

Yes he did that’s true. ( Voice Fades )

Narrator.

We now look back to the couples first meeting with the strange Mr Bateman the state agent at his office.

Mr Bateman.

Ha ha ( A sly laugh ) Now Mr and Mrs Grey ( He pauses for a few seconds ) I think I have the ideal property for you.

Alan.

Have you Mr Bateman?

Mr Bateman.

( Clearing his throat ) Yes. The occupier uh moved into sheltered                     accommodation some time ago ( Paper rustling ) Here are the details I just have them to hand.

Jean.

Mm ( Unsure ) Seems OK. Can we take a look. Is it possible to see it today?

Mr Bateman.

Of course you can

(Sound of a draw opening, objects being moved then keys jangling)

Ah here are the keys, take your time there’s no hurry to return them. No hurry at all. Ha Ha ( he chuckles to himself again as voice fades)

Narrator.

We now return to the present as Jean and Alan continue to explore this little house.

Alan.

I wonder why Mr Bateman didn’t come to show us around? he seemed very keen for us to see this place.

Jean

Maybe he was too busy.

Alan.

Something wasn’t right about him. I felt icy shivers up and down my spine as he spoke.

Jean.

So did I Alan so did I. ( Sounding worried  as voice fades)

Scene 2

Narrator.

Alan and Jean are very nervous as they venture further into the interior of this ordinary looking terraced house.

Jean.

It will need a lot of work done to make this our home.

(Sound of door opening)

Alan.

It certainly will.

( Sound of curtains being pulled open.)

( Coughs ) It’s very dusty. These old curtains would be the first thing to go.

(A door bangs loudly.)

Jean.

Ah ( screams loudly ) What was that?

Alan.

I expect it’s just a draught or the neighbours ( trying to laugh it off ) after all this is a terraced house. This room will need a lot done, maybe we could get a grant.

Jean.

True putting it like that.

( Footsteps as they move around.)

Shall we try the next room? Yes this would be big enough for a kitchen diner.

Alan.

( Try’s a door handle ) This handle seems hard to turn.

(Twists vigorously.)

Jean.

Let me have a go.

( Noise stops sound of door opening.)

There you are, lost all your strength then? ( Laughs ) Just teasing.

(Sound of a something  heavy falling a thud it echoes, then silence.)

( A shaky voice ) Alan what a strange noise, surely that’s not next door as well.

Alan.

It’s a bit spooky nothing to worry about Jean. ( Unconvincing ) Let’s have a look in this room.

(Sound of their footsteps as they walk about and enter another room.)

This room is very dark. yet there’s no curtains.

(There is a banging sound.)

Ouch damn table.

Jean.

Are you alright?

( Sound of running footsteps as she runs to him.)

Alan.

Yes thank you Jean just my pride hurts.

(There is a sound of scratching coming from somewhere.)

Where did that come from?

Jean.

I don’t know.

(A scream is heard and footsteps on the stairs.)

What now? Let’s go Alan I’m really getting scared now.

Alan.

So am I alright.

( Footsteps a slamming door.)

Hey the front doors shut on its own.

(Rattling of door handle.)

This door handle seems jammed now I can’ open it. ( His voice is sounding shaky. )

Jean.

It must open please try harder.

Alan.

No it won’t open, let’s try the back door.

(Footsteps as they move quickly to the backdoor.)

Jean.

What’s happening?

Narrator.

Alan and Jeans excitement at viewing the old house seems to have gone. Now they are moving about frightened and scared. both of them were unaware of the dark shadow at the top of the steep stairs.

Jean.

It’s getting colder please stay close.

(A key is put in a lock and turned the sound of door opening.)

Alan.

Of course I will. Yes that’s the key, let’s get out side. It’s a big garden.

(Footsteps on path.)

It’s very quiet out here. no sounds at all.

Jean.

That’s odd. I wonder why the there’s such a high wall? And no rear exit.

(Movement on soft ground.)

Why is the earth looking freshly turned when nobody has lived here for years?

Narrator.

I wonder Ha Ha. ( Fade Slowly. )

Alan.

I just don’t know, it’s best we get out if we can. The front door is our only hope,

(Quick footsteps as they re-enter then sound of pipes rattling.)

Jean.

What now?

Alan.

It sounded like an air lock from the pipes in here.

(Increasing intensity of rattling door handle.)

Jean.

There’s something in this house. I can feel it Alan.

Alan.

You could be right one thing is true its freezing.  Why can’t I get this door open?

(He bangs on it in frustration.)

Jean.

Is there anybody in this house with us? ( Jean calls out. )

(There is a cough.)

That sounded like a cough it wasn’t you was it Alan?

Alan.

No it wasn’t.

Narrator.

A strange voice suddenly calls out as the couple stand not knowing what to do next.

Son.

Sorry Mum I’ve got to go out. Cheerio.

(footsteps on stairs sound of a door opening and closing.)

Old Lady.

(Pleading ) Don’t go out tonight son please. Please!

Narrator.

Alan and Jean stand shivering at the bottom of the stairs listening to these disembodied voices in this damp and dingy house. The fear grew what was happening? Ha ha.

Old Lady.

Son come back.

(A scream, then a thud, a gasp then silence.)

Alan.

What’s happening?

(There’s a sound like a walking stick banging on the floor.)

Then a tapping which gets louder.

Jean.

ALAN! I’m being forced up the stairs.

(Heavy footsteps upon stairs.)

I can’t stop myself.

Alan.

Nor me it’s happening to me as well.

(Tapping is louder more intense a door creaks open on its own.)

We’re being drawn towards the front bedroom. The door it’s opening  ( An evil laugh )

Oh what an awful smell. There’s an old lady lying on the floor.

Jean.

Yes. Oh she’s gone.

(The bedroom door slams shut then opens.)

Thank goodness it opened. ( Out of breath )

( More tapping sounds as they run down the stairs.)

Let’s get back downstairs.

(An evil laugh seems to follow them the back door clicks open on its own.)

Alan.

What’s this the back door now opening on its own. Come on let’s try the garden again.

Jean.

That laugh, I wish it would stop.

(There is a bang then scuffling sound.)

Alan.

Ah! Get off me.

Jean.

( Screams ) Go away leave us alone.

( There’s silence.)

Alan.

Thank you. I couldn’t get away!It felt as though I was being grabbed and held. My head hurts, all we wanted was a quick look around. That Mr Bateman has a lot of explaining to do.

Jean.

He certainly does there was something really odd about him.

Alan.

Let’s try the garden again.

Narrator.

As they move to the back door that had opened alone its slams shut.

(Back door slams shut.)

Alan.

Damn. Have you got the keys Jean because I haven’t.

Jean.

No neither have I what now?

Alan.

There must be something around to force the door.

( Sound as Alan looks around for something.)

I wonder if there’s anything in the cupboard under the sink? yes that’s interesting a rusty old hammer with a flat end.

Jean.

That seems rather convenient.

Alan.

Don’t knock it Jean we need a bit of luck at this moment.

Right here goes.

(There is a sound of splitting wood then a loud crack as the door give way.)

It’s breaking Great! Let’s get outside.

(Footsteps on concrete then soft earth.)

Jean.

Certainly is a high wall, any ideas?

Alan.

Very odd. Look get on my shoulders. you’re not that heavy and see if you can look over the wall.

Jean.

Thanks very much if I must. Don’t drop me.

(There are a few groans.)

Keep still.

Alan.

OK I’m trying, can you see anything?

(There is a rumbling sound.)

Quick Jean I don’t want to drop you.

Jean.

I’m trying. No I don’t believe it

(Struggling then a she yells out.)

Narrator.

I wonder what she has seen, I think Alan has dropped her Ha ha.

Alan.

Sorry Jean I couldn’t hold on any longer the grounds soft and the rumble made me lose my balance. Did you see anything?

Jean.

I’m fine thank you Alan. ( Annoyed. ) No there was nothing there it was like a void, it was eerie.

Alan.

Just what have we got ourselves into.

(He trip’s over a skull jutting out of the ground A thud.)

Ouch what the heck have I tripped over?  It’s a skull.

Jean.

Yes there’s more all over the garden.

(Rumbling sound stops.)

The rumbling has stopped.

Alan.

Let’s get out somehow. So there was nothing there where are we?

(A wind starts to blow.)

Narrator.

So where are they,   trapped in a time warp another dimension will these two figure it out or die?

Alan.

There has been a lot of nasty deeds here, we must have gone into a different time. Though I think time has clashed. I’m sure that two different incidents are playing at the same moment.

Jean.

That’s comforting, what now?

Alan.

Let me think a minute, whatever is causing these strange events I’m pretty certain is feeding off our own fear.

Jean.

That I can understand . So what’s our next move?

Alan.

OK our only aim is to get out alive. And hopefully back to our own time. As I see it the front door is the portal. Keep your mind clear and ignore anything that happens.

Jean.

I see we must focus on the door. let’s get going I’m sure the time is short.

Alan.

Good hold my hand ready?

Jean.

Yes let’s go now.

Narrator.

Now they’re running for their lives can they escape.

Alan.

Right.

Running footsteps and heavy breathing a crashing sound as they burst into the kitchen.

The kitchen door had shut, but it’s not stopping us now.

(An evil laugh seems to follow them.)

Great we’re at the front door, now concentrate Jean. don’t let the evil in here stop us. Are you with me?

Jean.

Yes–Yes hurry.

Alan.

Let’s get this door open, can you grab that hammer Jean.

Jean.

Yes here it is please hurry.

( Grunting  turning handle wood ripping sounds.)

Alan.

Come on door OPEN!

Old Lady.

Help me Help me.

(Hollow haunting voice. Cracking sound then a whoosh, Jean screams.)

Alan.

The doors open, come on Jean.

Jean.

Thank God. We’re back in the front garden.

(Running footsteps squeaky gate opening).

That’s better, I never thought we’d ever get out.

(Starts crying with relief and joy. Sound of a kiss.)

Thank you Alan.

Alan.

That’s alright, any time. ( They Laugh nervously )  How uncanny it appears so ordinary from outside. I wonder how many others have been fooled like us?

Jean.

And how many not as lucky as us in getting out. A strange place.

Alan.

I agree.Let’s get back to that estate agents ( determined. ) I’m sure we both want some answers to this nightmare.

Jean.

Definitely.

(Footsteps.)

Where did we leave the car? i thought it was just down the street.

Alan.

It was about here ( Puzzled ) Blast somebody’s stolen it. This isn’t a good day. we’d better report this to the police.

Jean.

Fine we’d better get walking, it’s not far thankfully.

Alan.

Right no choice.

(Footsteps fading into distance.)

SCENE 3.

Narrator.

What secrets does this humble old terrace house hide? Will they find out from the mysterious Mr Bateman the estate agent? I very much doubt it Ha Ha. what really happened to their car?Ha Ha. ( Evil laugh Fades )

Alan.

I’m certain this was the estate agents address.

(Footsteps on pavement then stop.)

Where’s that paper with the house details on?

(Rustle of paper.)

Ah here it is.

( Whoosh and a crackling sound.)

Ouch. Damn! It’s ignited it’s only ashes now.

Jean.

This is hard to believe. I thought these things only happened in writers imaginations.

(Footsteps then stop.)

There’s no  estate agent in this block. Thoughts the second-hand shop does look familiar. I’d better go in and ask?

Alan.

Not on your on your own. I’m right behind you. ( Takes a deep breath ) OK in we go!

(Click of door opening a bell tinkled.)

Jean.

(Footsteps clears her throat.)

Hello is anybody in here?

(Silence.) Hello.

Mr Bateman.

Yes can I help you?

(Evil sounding voice and chuckle.)

Jean.

( Startled ) yes I–You look familiar.

(Evil chuckle.)

I remember the last time we met. this was an estate agents and you were in a suit–Mr Bateman!

Alan.

Yes your right. It’s him. ( Shocked )

Mr Bateman.

( Laughs ) Life is but an illusion. I–can alter time and space.

Alan.

Who are you/ Why are you hounding us?

Mr Bateman.

When the time comes you will know who I am ( Raises voice ) I need your lives to survive. How you escaped me before is what you call luck! But yours has run out. ( Laughs .)

Alan.

Never jean hold onto me tightly–run now

(Jean screams loudly shattering of glass.)

Mr Bateman.

( A roar ) Come back!

Alan.

Look there’s a taxi over there.

(Running footsteps and street sounds.)

It’s about to go Hey wait.

(Screech of tyres.)

Jean.

I’m so tired, it’s stopped, a very old-looking car.

Alan.

Yes and where’s the driver? I never saw him get out. It’s getting crazier by the second. Hey the keys are in the ignition. We’ve no choice get in Jean.

Sound of car doors opening and closing and car starting screech of tyres as it drives off.

Here we go!

Jean.

Where are we going?

(An evil laugh is heard again.)

This must be a nightmare, I don’t recognise anything around us.

Alan.

It’s no nightmare, we’re both wide awake. This is happening! Somehow we’ve both been drawn into something evil. How I don’t know we’d better find some answers quickly. Or else our souls could be lost forever!

(A bang the engine stops.)

What now? ( Angry ) We’re being toyed with.

Jean.

( Screams again ) It’s gone dark now. There’s no streets anymore. Where’s the car? Alan! I won’t let this thing defeat me!

(Evil voice echoes in the background.)

Narrator.

What dark forces are weaving their Webb’s around this couple, can they survive? So far they have kept one step ahead of the evil determined to destroy them. Will they continue to do so? suddenly Alan and Jean are confronted by a familiar figure. As they once again stand in front of the Old House. Ha Ha. (Laugh Fades )

Old Lady.

Hello young ones ( Soft and Kind ) don’t be afraid.

Alan.

Uh– I thought I saw you dead on the floor ( surprised and intrigued )Who are you?

Jean.

( Sharply ) What’s been happening to us?

Old Lady.

( Soothing positive voice ) I’ll try to explain. I have no form so I had to take a form, the old lady seemed  the easiest to present to you. Sorry if I startled you. You have both been caught in a time-lapse which had centred on this house. Many murders took place here including the images of the old lady you have witnessed. She was left neglected by her own son, who was the murderer? This was caused by this evil being. I’ve sworn to seek out and destroy, even if it takes forever. This being is powerful and I often weary of the battle.

Alan.

Is the estate agent this evil being?

Old Lady.

Yes we are of the same race, he can change like me. But we different in every other way.

Jean.

Where do we fit in?

(Wind in background increases.)

We’re just an ordinary human being couple, trying to find a home of our own.

Alan.

That’s right ( Softly ) we just want to find a place and be together.

Old Lady.

( Firmly ) That’s where you’re wrong.

( Wind grows louder.)

I’ve observed you both for some time. Your wills are strong. My search has been long to find two special humans who are powerful enough to become my allies in my quest against evil.

(An evil laugh is heard once more crashing sounds.)

I’ll place you both back in your present home and contact you again very soon. You must go from here now.

(There’s a flashing sound.)

You’ll be safe under my protection.

Alan.

Wait! you haven’t—Blast she’s gone.

Narrator.

Twenty four hours have passed by. Jean and Alan find themselves back in their bed. Was it a bad Dream?

SCENE 4

Jean.

Ooh ( Dazed ) What happened? Alan wake up.

Alan.

(Snoring  clearing his throat) Uh! Jean. What’s up? ( Yawns ) I’ve had the most weird dream. I feel so tired

(Bed Creaks.)

Jean.

It wasn’t a dream Alan. It happened we’re still fully dressed ( Yawns ) I feel drained.

Alan.

Yea I remember now–It’s hard to believe. I’ve always tried to keep an opened mind though—

(Suddenly everything starts to shake.)

Hell what’s going on now?

(The laugh is heard again. Then a the old Lady’s voice is heard  soothingly.)

Old Lady.

Hold on have no fear. I’ve come for your help.

Jean.

( Frightened ) Don’t worry. All will be well, your destiny’s written. I’ve created your disappearance from this time frame. neither have close family to miss you.

Alan.

True but we need more time to let this sink in. Surely you can understand it’s hard for us to visualize what’s going to happen.  we’ve had virtually no warning or time to prepare.

Old Lady.

I shall guide you, all is well. Prepare for travelling in time.

(Voice fades and so does the laughter.)

Jean.

( Sighs ) So Alan it begins it seems we  have no choice. Our unexpected journey begins into the unknown. Hold my hand. I Love you so much.

Alan.

Yes we’ll be together. I love you too.

Old Lady.

The time is now stay close together. All is well.

( A whooshing sound then silence.)

Narrator.

So their journey has begun, what will happen to them? That’s another story. In the local paper shortly after Alan and Jean vanished. An article read” Young couple mysteriously disappear on a weekend break to the seaside. Their car is found abandoned near the beach. But no bodies found. They are feared drowned ” we know different don’t we?Ha Ha.

(Slow haunting laugh and voice fades.)

The End ( Or is it )

Published in: on 18/10/2007 at 14:50  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://malctg.wordpress.com/2007/10/18/house-hunting-radio-play-by-malcolm-t-gould/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

